2013 Butkus Award Prep and College Watch List

Updated: July 16, 2013

CHICAGO – (July 15, 2013) – The 29th annual Butkus Award® selection process to honor the nation’s best linebackers begins today with announcement of the collegiate and high school pre-season watch list.

Each watch list contains 51 candidates, honoring the now-retired professional jersey number of Dick Butkus, who is regarded by NFL Films as the best defensive player in football history.  The selection panel is comprised of 51 coaches, evaluators and journalists.  Players who do not appear on the watch list may be considered for the Award.

The Collegiate Butkus Award watch list includes 51 candidates from 37 universities.  C.J. Mosley of Alabama is the only returning finalist, along with returning semi-finalists Jonathan Brown of Illinois, Max Bullough of Michigan State and Trent Murphy of Stanford.

The High School Butkus Award watch list includes 51 candidates from 51 high schools across 15 states.  States with the most prep players include Texas (8), Florida (7), Alabama (6) and Ohio (6).

Semi-finalists will be named October 28, finalists November 26, and winners will be notified on or before December 10.  The Pro Butkus Award winner will be announced in January 2014.

2012 Butkus Award winners:

  • Professional: Von Miller, Denver Broncos.
  • Collegiate: Manti Te’o, Notre Dame, now San Diego Chargers.
  • High School:  Jaylon Smith, Bishop Luers, Fort Wayne, Ind., now Notre Dame.

The Butkus Award was expanded in 2008 to honor linebackers at three levels while helping spread the word about Butkus’ I Play Clean™ initiative which encourages teens to eat well, train hard, and play with attitude instead of resorting to steroids and related drugs.  More information is available at www.iplayclean.org or at www.facebook.com/i.play.clean.

The Butkus Award, www.thebutkusaward.com or www.facebook.com/51.butkus, is presented by the Butkus Foundation, a 501c3 non-profit organization. The Butkus Award is part of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which includes the 21 most prestigious awards in college football with 678 years of selection excellence. Visit www.NCFAA.org for more information.

Butkus Award® 2013 Collegiate Watch List

Adrian Hubbard Alabama
C.J. Mosley Alabama
Carl  Bradford Arizona State
Chris Young Arizona State
Bryce  Hager Baylor
Steele Divitto Boston College
Khalil Mack Buffalo
Spencer Hadley BYU
Uani Unga BYU
Kyle Van Noy BYU
Greg Blair Cincinnati
Derrick Webb Colorado
Yawin Smallwood Connecticut
Dorian Bell Duquesne
Derrell Johnson East Carolina
Christian Jones Florida State
Telvin Smith Florida State
Jordan Jenkins Georgia
Jerry Attaochu Georgia Tech
Brandon Watts Georgia Tech
Jonathan  Brown Illinois
Anthony Hitchens Iowa
Christian Kirksey Iowa
James Morris Iowa
Jeremiah George Iowa State
Avery Williamson Kentucky
Preston Brown Louisville
Lamin Barrow LSU
Max Bullough Michigan State
D.T. Shackelford Mississippi
Benardrick McKinney Mississippi State
Deontae Skinner Mississippi State
Carlo Calabrese Notre Dame
Dan Fox Notre Dame
Prince Shembo Notre Dame
Ryan Shazier Ohio State
Boseko Lokombo Oregon
Glenn Carson Penn State
Jamal Merrell Rutgers
Dede Lattimore South Florida
Cqulin Hubert Southeastern Louisiana
Trent  Murphy Stanford
Shane Skov Stanford
A.J. Johnson Tennessee
Anthony Barr UCLA
Eric Kendricks UCLA
Jordan Zumwalt UCLA
Hayes Pullard USC
Trevor Reilly Utah
Andrew    Jackson Western Kentucky
Chris  Borland Wisconsin

Butkus Award® 2013 High School Watch List

Deshaun  Davis Vigor Prichard AL
Rashaan Evans Auburn Auburn AL
Shaun Dion Hamilton Carver Montgomery AL
E.J.  Moss Ashville Ashville AL
T.J. Posey Gadsden Gadsden AL
Tre Williams St. Paul’s Mobile AL
D.J. Calhoun El Cerrito El Cerrito CA
Jamardre  Cobb Salesian Los Angeles CA
Chandler Leniu St. John Bosco Bellflower CA
Dwight  Williams Junipero Serra Gardena CA
Dillon Bates Ponte Vedra Ponte Vedra FL
Kain Daub Sandalwood Jacksonville FL
Vincent  Jackson Jesuit Tampa FL
Jacob  Pugh Godby Tallahassee FL
Delvin Purifoy Catholic Pensacola FL
Sharieff Rhaheed Fort Pierce Central Fort Pierce FL
Richard Yeargin University School Fort Lauderdale FL
Bryson Allen-Williams Cedar Grove Ellenwood GA
Demarquis Gates Lovejoy Hampton GA
Raekwon McMillan Liberty County Hinesville GA
Kevin Mouhon Norcross Norcross GA
Korie Rogers Buford Buford GA
Clifton Garrett Plainfield South Joliet IL
Nyles  Morgan Crete Monee Crete IL
Kyron Watson East St. Louis East St. Louis IL
Laurence Jones Monroe Neville LA
Kenny Young John Curtis River Ridge LA
Connor Strachan St. Sebastians Country Day Needham MA
Melvin Keihn Gilman School Baltimore MD
Deon  Drake Cass Tech Detroit MI
Kyle  Berger St. Ignatius Cleveland OH
Dante Booker St. Vincent-St. Mary Akron OH
Michael Ferns St. Clairsville St. Clairsville OH
Noah Furbush Kenton Kenton OH
Davonte James Springfield Springfield OH
Arius  Moore Beavercreek Beavercreek OH
Gyasi Akem Broken Arrow Broken Arrow OK
Kevin Crosby Bamberg Ehrhardt SC
Kendall Joseph Belton-Honea Path Honea Path SC
Christian Miller Spring Valley Columbia SC
Petera  Wilson White Station Memphis TN
Otaro  Alaka Cypress Falls Houston TX
James David Rockdale Rockdale TX
Cameron Hampton Carter Dallas TX
Josh  Mabin Klein Oak Spring TX
T’Kevian Rockwell Wylie Wylie TX
Hoza Scott La Porte La Porte TX
Josh  Walker Gilmer Gilmer TX
Zach  Whitley North Shore Galena Park TX
Greer Martini Woodberry Forest Woodberry Forest VA