Butkus Foundation Announces 2011 Butkus Award Watch Lists

Updated: July 14, 2011

The Butkus Foundation announced their 2011 watch list today. To see the full list hit up www.thebutkusaward.com. Previous defenders to take home this award include Clay Matthews and #2 overall pick, Von Miller of the Denver Broncos!

The Collegiate Butkus Award watch list includes 51 candidates to honor Butkus’ legendary #51 jersey number. The players hail from 40 universities across 10 conferences across the nation.

The headliners of this years class:

  • Luke Kuechly of Boston College
  • Dont’a Hightower of Alabama
  • Sean Spence of Miami (Fla.)
  • Travis Lewis of Oklahoma
  • Keenan Robinson of Texas
  • Manti Te’o of Notre Dame

Semi-finalist will be announced October 24, and finalists November 22. The winner will be announced by December 7.