Burlsworth Trophy Announces Nominees

Updated: November 15, 2011

For those of you out there that may not know, the Burlsworth Trophy is awarded to the top walk-on players in college football. The Trophy was first awarded in 2010 and the winner was Georgia Tech Center Sean Bedford.

Mock Draft HQ congratulates all of this years nominees and wishes them all luck in the future whether that includes playing in the NFL or a career in another area.

The Trophy is named in honor of Brandon Burlsworth. Without any Division 1 scholarship offer, Brandon walked on to the Razorbacks team in 1994, worked his way to being a three-year starter, and was eventually named an All-American in 1998. Burlsworth was selected as the 63rd overall pick by the Indianapolis Colts in the 1999 NFL draft, but was tragically killed in a car accident 11 days later. The Burlsworth Foundation was created in his memory and supports the physical and spiritual needs of children, in particular those children that have limited opportunities.

The 2011 Burlsworth Trophy nominees are below:

Cameron Kastl         SR                   Long Snapper                      Arizona State

Tyler Shoemaker     SR                   Wide Receiver                      Boise State University

Jameson Frazier      SR                   Outside Linebacker            Brigham Young

Philip Price              SR                    Offensive Tackle                 Clemson University

James Skelton         JR                    Linebacker                            Colorado State

Alex King                 SR                    Punter                                    Duke University

Andrew Bodenheimer  JR                Outside Receiver               East Carolina University

Marcus Bartels         SR                   Safety                                    Florida Atlantic University

B.J. Finney               FR                   Center                                    Kansas State University

Lee Stalker               SR                   Defensive Lineman             Kent State University

Jeremiah Taylor       SOPH              Defensive End              Marshall

Anthony Amos         JR                    Wide Receiver              Middle Tennessee

Brandon Wilson       JR                    Linebacker                           Mississippi State University

David Ruffer            SR                    Kicker                                    Notre Dame

Nate Ebner              SR                    Defensive Back                   Ohio State University

Bryson Rose           JR                     Kicker                                     Ole Miss

Mike Remmers       SR                     Left Tackle                            Oregon State University

Kevin Ballinger       SR                     Long Snapper               Purdue University

Matt Nordstrom       SR                    Linebacker                            Rice University

Chandler Jones      SOPH               Wide Receiver               San Jose State University

Griff Whalen           SR                    Wide Receiver               Stanford University

Caleb Russell         JR                    Linebacker                 Texas A&M

Andrew Abbott        JR                    Cornerback               UCLA

Will Lowery                  JR                         Defensive Back                University of Alabama

John Bonano          SR                    Kicker                        University of Arizona

Dylan Breeding       JR                    Punter                            University of Arkansas

Ronnie Weaver       SR                   Running Back                 University of Central Florida

Travis Sandersfeld  SR                   Defensive Back                   University of Colorado

Johnny McEntee     JR                   Quarterback                          University of Connecticut

David Lerner            SR                  Punter                            University of Florida

Bryant Moniz           SR                   Quarterback              University of Hawaii

Patrick Edwards      SR                   Wide Receiver                University of Houston

Derek Dimke           SR                   Kicker                         University of Illinois

Tom Nardo              SR                   Defensive Tackle     University of Iowa

Steven Johnson      SR                   Linebacker                            University of Kansas

Craig McIntosh        JR                   Kicker                          University of Kentucky

Mitch Huelsing         JR                   Safety                         University of Memphis

Jordan Kovacs        JR                    Safety                                     University of Michigan

Trey Barrow             JR                   Punter/Place Kicker        University of Missouri

Mike Caputo             SR                  Offensive Lineman              University of Nebraska

Dominique Whaley   JR                   Running Back                 University of Oklahoma

Chas Alecxih            SR                   Defensive Tackle                University of Pittsburgh

Dalton Wilson           JR                   Fullback                                University of South Carolina

Gilbert “Chaz” Hine  SR                   Center                             University of South Florida

Austin Davis             SR                   Quarterback                         University of Southern Mississippi

Wesley Miller            FR                   Safety                                    University of Texas at El Paso

A.J. Lindeman          JR                    Offensive Lineman             University of Toledo

Trey Watts                SOPH              Running Back                University of Tulsa

Ross Cumming         SR                   Fullback                               University of Southern California

Jared Abbrederis      SOPH              Wide Receiver               University of Wisconsin